Save $1.87!
Jon M. Sweeney

The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book

Paperback

$16.99 $15.12

ISBN: 9781612618302 (Paraclete Press) Ships in 1-2 business days.
Shipping is FREE on orders over $75!
All items are in brand new condition.

Description

In the tradition of The St. Francis Prayer Book, Jon Sweeney offers an ancient-medieval way of understanding and experiencing the Gospel: the Holy Fool. This countercultural approach is exemplified in the life and teachings of Francis of Assisi, the most popular Saint in history, and his good friend, Brother Juniper.

What does it mean to be a fool for Christ? It meant to St. Francis: being small not strong, valuing joy over pleasure, avoiding positions of power, and enjoying rather than avoiding moments of insecurity, fear, and awkwardness. These practices revealed to the first Franciscans how being foolish in the eyes of the world is a sure way to discover a renewed sense of the presence of God.

Includes a week of daily offices focused on the concept of the Holy Fool and spiritual practices for countercultural living.

“What a treasure for anyone with a Franciscan heart! Jon Sweeney has gathered the folklore and the facts about Francis’s unique gift to the world and to the Church and offers them to the reader. We learn that it is a holy ‘thing’ to be ‘foolish.’ In our world today which touts accomplishment in all its forms as the ultimate success, Sweeney reminds us of what truly makes a person successful in each one’s limited span of years.”
—Sr. Mary Petrosky, FMM, Spiritual Director

“Take a retreat from the absurdity of our busy world to enter more deeply in the foolish peace of God.”
—Fr. Daniel P. Horan, author of God Is Not Fair and Other Reasons for Gratitude

“This gem of a book reminds us to delight in being called a ‘fool,’ for then Fun, Optimism, Openness, and Laughter have blended together in life’s treasure chest of ‘pure joy.’”
—Sr. Bridget Haase, OSU, wisdomwonder.com

Additional information

Writer

Jon M. Sweeney

Publication Date

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781612618302